When a person commits a violent crime, it is taken very seriously in the state of Georgia. Individuals who are charged with violent crimes are facing a very dire situation. These crimes may include assault, battery, battery domestic violence, and aggravated assault. These charges can range from misdemeanors to felonies. If you have been charged with committing a violent crime, it is crucial to contact an attorney to assist with your case.
A simple assault charge is treated as a misdemeanor in the state of Georgia. It is considered to be simple assault when a person attempts to commit a violent injury to another person or commits an act that places another person in reasonable apprehension of receiving a violent injury. If convicted of such acts, a person may face the following consequences:
It is important to know what a simple assault charge may be upgraded to an aggravated assault if the act is committed against a family member, a person over 65 years old, a pregnant woman, or a school official. This is also true in the event that the crime occurred in public transit or station.
An act of violence is considered an aggravated assault during one of the following situations:
When convicted of an aggravated assault, it is considered a felony. This may result in penalties that include 1 to 20 years in jail, serious fines, restitution, and a permanent criminal record.
Battery involves physical acts and potential harm. Simple battery is when a person deliberately makes an act of offensive physical contact or physically provokes someone. It is also the case when a person intentionally causes harm to another person. When this happens, they can be charged with a misdemeanor. A second offense carries a minimum of 10 days in jail while a third charge may require 1 to 5 years in prison.
Aggravated battery is also a felony charge. This happens when a person maliciously causes harm against another person. When convicted, the individual may receive 1 to 20 years in jail, fines, restitution, and a permanent criminal record. These charges may increase to a minimum of 3 years if the act is against a family member. They may increase 5 years if it is against a person over 65 years old, it happened in a public transit vehicle or station, or it was against a student or teacher in a school zone.
Alfred Law Firm, LLC is proud to serve clients in Georgia when they face legal matters related to family law and criminal defense. When legal issues arise, it is important to have the guidance of an experienced attorney that can help you obtain a favorable outcome. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.
“Each and every client deserves to be treated with respect; and each case is equally important regardless of the
client's social or economic status.” - Janice F. Alfred, Esq.
We pride ourselves in remaining accessible to clients both during and outside of normal business hours.
Whether you want to contact us via email, phone or text, our firm is here for you.