When individuals in Georgia are given a license, they are being trusted to follow the rules of the road. Doing so is crucial to ensure the safety of not only themselves but the other drivers on the road. When drivers are found violating these traffic laws, they may be pulled over by law enforcement and charged with a traffic violation. These violations come with certain penalties depending on the type of violation the driver is given. Penalties can range from fines to points on your license, as well as a license suspension, and even the possibility of jail time.
Drivers are expected to abide by traffic laws when they are behind the wheel of a vehicle. There are many ways a driver may violate these rules and find themselves in great trouble. Violations may include poor driving decisions such as:
When a driver is reckless behind the wheel, they can endanger themselves and others on the road. Certain dangerous driving situations may be considered to be reckless driving, including driving while intoxicated and speeding over a certain amount. It sometimes also considers if a driver is too close to another vehicle or changes lanes aggressively. Reckless driving is a misdemeanor that may require a fine up to $1000 and the possibility of up to a year in jail.
When an individual is in an accident and leaves the scene without following the proper protocol, they can be charged with a hit and run. The charge is considered a misdemeanor if it involves solely property damage or a condition that is not serious. A misdemeanor may be penalized with a fine up to $1000 and the possibility of up to a year in jail. If the accident caused a serious injury or death and the driver leaves the scene, they may be charged with a felony. This may require between 1 and 5 years in jail.
If a driver’s license is suspended, they are not allowed to keep driving. Even still, some individuals continue to do so regardless. If a driver is found on the road with a suspended license, they may be charged with a misdemeanor and face up to $1000 in fines or up to a year in jail.
There are many reasons as to why an individual may drive without insurance unknowingly. When this happens, the individual may be charged with a misdemeanor. This may result in up to $1000 in fines and up to a year in prison.
If you or someone you know has been charged with a traffic violation and wish to seek legal representation, contact The Alfred Law Firm, LLC. today.
Alfred Law Firm, LLC is proud to serve clients in Georgia when they face legal matters related to family law and criminal defense. When legal issues arise, it is important to have the guidance of an experienced attorney that can help you obtain a favorable outcome. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.
“Each and every client deserves to be treated with respect; and each case is equally important regardless of the
client's social or economic status.” - Janice F. Alfred, Esq.
We pride ourselves in remaining accessible to clients both during and outside of normal business hours.
Whether you want to contact us via email, phone or text, our firm is here for you.