×

Penalties for a DUI During the Labor Day Weekend

Penalties for a DUI During the Labor Day Weekend

Many people partake in plenty of celebratory festivities during the Labor Day Weekend. To send off the end of summer, people throw parties with barbecues, fireworks, and drinking. While it is perfectly okay for people to drink alcohol during their celebrations, it is important to do so legally and safely. It is illegal for underage people to consume alcohol at any time, even during the holidays. In addition to this, it is illegal for an of-age individual to consume alcohol and drive. Drivers who operate a vehicle under the influence can be charged with a DUI. While heading into the holiday weekend, it is important to know what the consequences of these charges are. 

First Offense DUI Penalties

If you are pulled over while driving under the influence for your first time this upcoming weekend, you can face the following penalties as a result of your actions:

  • A license suspension for up to 1 year
  • The possibility of up to 1 year in jail
  • A fine between $300 and $1000
  • A license reinstatement fee
  • The cost of participating in the DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • 40 hours of community service

Second Offense DUI Penalties

If you are caught driving under the influence for a second time during Labor Day Weekend, you can be subject to the following consequences:

  • A license suspension for a minimum of 18 months and a maximum of 3 years
  • The possibility of anywhere from 90 days to 1 year in jail
  • A fine between $600 and %1000
  • A license reinstatement fee
  • The cost of participating in the DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • At least 30 days of community service
  • A possible clinical evaluation and treatment

Third Offense DUI Penalties

The consequences of being charged with a third DUI can increase and be harsher than that of previous convictions. This can include:

  • License revocation for up to 5 years
  • A minimum of 15 days in jail
  • A fine between $100 and $5000
  • The cost of participating in the DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • At least 30 days of community service
  • Clinical evaluation and treatment
  • Possibly issued an ignition interlock device and a limited driving permit
  • Your name, address, and photo in the local newspaper at your own expense
  • Habitual Violator Status

Underage DUI Penalties

As previously stated, it is illegal for those under the age of 21 to consume alcohol. In the event that they do and drive, they can be arrested for an underage DUI. This charge can come with serious consequences that have the potential to impact a person’s future. This can include a license suspension until a certain age, fees, and participation in an alcohol treatment program. If the underage individual is a repeat offender, these penalties can increase and result in clinical evaluations, treatments, and being issued an ignition interlock device.

Contact our Firm

Alfred Law Firm, LLC is proud to serve clients in Georgia when they face legal matters related to family law and criminal defense. When legal issues arise, it is important to have the guidance of an experienced attorney that can help you obtain a favorable outcome. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What is Considered Burglary in Georgia?
  •  Can I Challenge the Results of a Breathalyzer Test in Georgia?