×

DUI in Georgia

DUI in Georgia

Getting charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a serious charge that the state of Georgia is taking action against. Georgia police officers go through specific training for DUI arrests. Officers scientifically gauge a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) through what is known as a Breathalyzer or an Alcotest. This allows officers to determine a level of intoxication. The legal limit in Georgia is 0.08% for those over the age of 21, and 0.04% if they are operating a commercial vehicle. For those under the age of 21, the legal limit is 0.02%.

Penalties for Driving Under the Influence

The penalties for a person charged with a DUI over the age of 21 vary depending on the offense. The levels of offense in the state of Georgia are First, Second, and Third Offense.

First Offense DUI

  • Suspended license for 1 year
  • The possibility of 1 year in jail
  • A $300-$1000 fine
  • A fee to reinstate your license
  • The cost of participating in a DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • 40 hours of community service

Second Offense DUI

  • Suspended license for 18 months to 3 years
  • The possibility of 90 days to 1 year in jail
  • A $600-$1000 fine
  • A fee to reinstate your license
  • The cost of participating in a DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • The possibility of being issued an ignition interlock device
  • At least 30 days of community service
  • Potential clinical evaluation and treatment

Third Offense DUI

  • License revoked for 5 years
  • Maintaining “Habitual Violator Status”
  • A minimum of 15 days in jail
  • A $100-$5000 fine
  • The cost of participating in a DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • The possibility of being issued an ignition interlock device in addition to a limited driver’s permit after 2 years
  • At least 30 days of community service
  • Clinical evaluation and treatment
  • Your name, address, and photograph put in the local newspaper (at your cost)

Underage DUI

There are another set of consequences specific to those who are arrested for an underage DUI, dependent on the person’s age and their BAC when arrested. If you are charged with a DUI before you turn 21 years of age, it can result in license suspension, fees, and mandatory participation in an alcohol treatment program. In the case of multiple underage DUI offenses, there is a possibility of clinical evaluations and treatment in addition of an ignition interlock device issued for their vehicle.

Contact Our Firm

If you have been arrested for a DUI, it is important to speak to an attorney who can assess your situation and guide you in the best direction. Contact the Law Office of Alfred Law Firm, LLC today.

Alfred Law Firm, LLC is proud to serve clients in Georgia when they face legal matters related to family law and criminal defense. When legal issues arise, it is important to have the guidance of an experienced attorney that can help you obtain a favorable outcome. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  How Are Marital Assets Divided in Georgia?
  •  Can I Prepare For a Divorce in Georgia?