×

DUI Consequences in Georgia

DUI Consequences in Georgia

Being charged with a driving under the influence offense in Georgia is a very serious matter. Georgia takes these situations very seriously in an effort to keep residents safe as they travel from one place to another. Law enforcement officers are trained to look for signs of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol and will work hard to hold drunk drivers accountable for their actions. If you have been charged with driving under the influence in Georgia, it is important to retain the services of a law firm that is committed to exploring all possible defenses on your behalf.

If an individual’s blood alcohol content is 0.08 percent or greater, they can be charged with a DUI. In order for a law enforcement officer to determine BAC, they can submit the driver to a breathalyzer test. The penalties for a DUI conviction are serious and increase with each subsequent offense.

For individuals who are over the age of 21 and are convicted of a DUI, they may face the following penalties depending on the offense.

First Offense:

  • License suspension (1 year)
  • Possible 1 year in jail
  • Fine between $300 and $1000
  • License reinstatement fee
  • The costs and participation in the DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • 40 hours of community service

Second Offense:

  • License suspension (18 months to 3 years)
  • Possible 90 days to 1 year in jail (min 48 hours)
  • Fine between $600 and $1000
  • License reinstatement fee
  • The costs and participation in the DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • Possible issuance of an ignition interlock device
  • At least 30 days of community service
  • The potential for clinical evaluation and treatment

Third or subsequent offense:

  • License revocation for 5 years
  • Habitual Violator Status
  • Minimum 15 days in jail
  • Fine between $100 and $5000
  • The costs and participation in the DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • Possible issuance of an ignition interlock device and limited driving permit after 2 years
  • At least 30 days of community service
  • Clinical evaluation and treatment
  • Name, address, and photo in the local newspaper at cost to you

If you have been charged with driving under the influence in Georgia, it is important to retain strong legal representation as soon as possible. Contact us today.

Alfred Law Firm, LLC is proud to serve clients in Georgia when they face legal matters related to family law and criminal defense. When legal issues arise, it is important to have the guidance of an experienced attorney that can help you obtain a favorable outcome. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What happens if I violate probation in Georgia?
  •  How is mediation beneficial?