×

Henry County DUI Attorneys

DUI

Providing Effective Representation To Clients Facing DUI Arrests

Georgia law enforcement is proactive and aggressive in combatting drunk driving. It has become easier now more than ever to find yourself arrested and charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in the state of Georgia. Police officers undergo extensive training on how to make DUI arrests that will stick. An arrest does not always mean you have to accept the charge.  The Alfred Law Firm fights for the rights of clients arrested for a DUI in the state of Georgia. Our firm will explore all defenses to dismiss the charges, investigating the circumstances of the stop, the arrest, and even the tests given to assess the level of intoxication. If you need effective legal services from an experienced law firm, contact the Alfred Law Firm for a consultation to discuss your legal matter.

Blood alcohol concentration

The only scientific way for Georgian police officers to determine a DUI is by assessing one’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC). They can do this through breath tests, commonly referred to as Breathalyzers and Alcotests. They can also accomplish this by way of a blood test. The percentage of alcohol in one’s blood will determine how intoxicated the person may be. The legal limit in Georgia is 0.08% BAC for adults over the age of 21. For adults over the age of 21 operating commercial vehicles, the legal limit is 0.04%. The legal limit for individuals under the age of 21 is 0.02%.

Penalties for a DUI in Georgia over the age of 21

First Offense DUI

  • License suspension (1 year)
  • Possible 1 year in jail
  • Fine between $300 and $1000
  • License reinstatement fee
  • The costs and participation in the DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • Community service (40 hours)

Second offense DUI

  • License suspension (18 months to 3 years)
  • Possible 90 days to 1 year in jail (min 48 hours)
  • Fine between $600 and $1000
  • License reinstatement fee
  • The costs and participation in the DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • Possible issuance of an ignition interlock device
  • Community service (at least 30 days)
  • Potential for clinical evaluation and treatment

Third offense DUI

  • License revocation (5 years)
  • Habitual Violator Status
  • Minimum 15 days in jail
  • Fine between $100 and $5000
  • The costs and participation in the DUI Alcohol and Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • Possible issuance of an ignition interlock device and limited driving permit after 2 years
  • Community service (at least 30 days)
  • Clinical evaluation and treatment
  • Name, address, and photo in the local newspaper at cost to you

What are the penalties for an underage DUI in Georgia

Being arrested for an underage DUI comes with serious consequences. Some factors that impact these issues is age and BAC level. For those arrested for a DUI under the age of 21, the penalties range from license suspension until a certain age, fees, and the participation in an alcohol treatment program. For repeat offenders, the penalties become greater and also include the potential for clinical evaluations, treatments and the issuance of an ignition interlock device.

Some things to consider if you are arrested for a DUI

  • You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to make a written request for a hearing with the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services to keep your license from being suspended after you arrest. This is a complete and separate proceeding from your DUI charge! You may not even know that your license is suspended until you find yourself being arrested again for driving on a suspended license. This is why it is crucial that you contact an attorney as soon as you are charged with a DUI so that your rights, and just as important, your privilege to drive on Georgia roads is protected.
  • In Georgia, even if you were under the legal limit of .08 on your breath test, you can still be charged with a DUI. If an officer feels that a substance in your system made you less safe of a driver, you can be charged with a DUI. You need an aggressive lawyer to represent you in court and fight for you. There are many arguments and legal strategies in these types of cases that an attorney can bring to your case to fight on your behalf.  Do not just accept a plea of DUI without having your case thoroughly analyzed and worked-on by an experienced attorney.
  • Even if you refused the breath tests, an officer can take a blood sample from you without your consent. These types of cases, although difficult, are important to bring to an attorney to make sure that your rights are protected. There is nothing more intrusive than being forced to give your blood against your will for a DUI charge.

Contact an experienced DUI defense attorney

If you have been arrested for a DUI in the state of Georgia, it is important to pick the right attorney. The Alfred Law Firm is an experienced criminal defense practice focused on providing effective and zealous representation to clients facing DUI arrests. Our firm understands the impact a DUI can have on one’s future and will explore all avenues of defense to mitigate the effects of the charge. To discuss your matter with us, contact the Alfred Law Firm today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Factors impacting child custody in Georgia
  •  Dividing Assets in a Georgia Divorce