Drivers have an obligation to obey the rules of the road at all times behind the wheel of their vehicle. One of the most important rules of the road that is frequently ignored is the speed limit. Drivers are required to follow the speed limit, otherwise, they can cause dangerous accidents and put themselves as well as others at risk for injury.
In the state of Georgia, speeding violations are taken very seriously. Law enforcement and courts work tirelessly to enforce the speed limit. In doing so, they frequently impose penalties on those who drive over the speed limit. Those who violate the speeding limit may receive a speeding ticket in addition to points on their license. When a driver accumulates points on their record, it can cause an increase in personal finances, car insurance payments, and possibly a license suspension.
Georgia Speeding Point System
There are different speed limits for drivers to follow depending on where they are driving. This can vary from 20 miles per hour to 70 miles per hour. If a person drives over the designated speed limit for the road they are on, they are violating the law. In the state of Georgia, the point system for speeding is as follows:
- 2 points for driving 15 mph but less than 19 mph over the limit
- 3 points for driving 19 mph but less than 24 mph over the limit
- 4 points for driving 24 mph but less than 34 mph over the limit
- 6 points for driving 34 mph or more over the limit
Penalties for Speeding Tickets
In addition to receiving points, a driver can also face other consequences. This can include certain fines in the form of a speeding ticket. The cost of a speeding ticket in the state of Georgia can vary depending on a few things: where the violation occurred, how fast they were driving over the speed limit, and the driver’s previous record. The maximum fines for a first time speeding violation are as follows:
- $25 for driving more than 5 mph but less than 10 mph over the limit
- $100 for driving more than 10 mph but less than 14 mph over the limit
- $125 for driving more than 14 mph but less than 19 mph over the limit
- $150 for driving more than 19 mph but less than 24 mph over the limit
- $500 for driving more than 24 mph but less than 34 mph over the limit
What is a Super Speeder?
In the state of Georgia, there is such a thing as “Super Speeder Law.” A super speeder is a driver that is convicted of speeding at 75 mph or more on a two-lane road, in addition to those who drive more than 85 mph on any road or highway. This offense can result in a $200 fine. Failure to make this payment within 120 days of the notice can result in a license suspension.
Contact our Firm
Alfred Law Firm, LLC is proud to serve clients in Georgia when they face legal matters related to family law and criminal defense. When legal issues arise, it is important to have the guidance of an experienced attorney that can help you obtain a favorable outcome. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.